Outfeed Table – Part 1


Now that the sauce packet bin is out of the way, it’s time to turn to more pressing matters.  Ever since I got a tablesaw for my birthday, the need for an outfeed table has been obvious.  I’ve seen many plans online but, as usual, decided to go my own way in this matter.  Additionally, since mine is a contractor saw with a 52″ fence and a motor hanging out the back in the way, things are a little more complicated.  I’m sure we’ll have plenty of material for the next episode of What I Screwed Up This Week.

I decided on a variation of a work table I saw Norm Abrams do, complete with foot levelers and a retractable caster system.  This design will, I believe, work better than using locking casters, and be more stable when in place.  This sent me to the lumberyard for two sheets of 3/4” exterior B/C plywood and one sheet of 1/4” tempered Masonite.  I may need some more plywood for braces, but I believe I’ve got enough scrap (excuse me, little good pieces) to finish out the rest.  If not, you can ALWAYS use more plywood!

Outfeed Table Part 1 1This project would also give me the chance to try something else new:  pocket hole joinery.  I have never used it before, and truthfully believe it to be of rather limited use.  However, with lots of butt joints and a plywood top attached to rails, this seemed like the perfect opportunity to test it out.  Accordingly, I ordered a Kreg R3 Jr. kit from Amazon, along with an assortment pack of screws.  Granted, Kreg makes nicer kits, but this one seemed perfect for my needs since I wasn’t doing any sort of production work.  In any event, the price was right for a starter kit.

Outfeed Table Part 1 2The table will be 80” long, and about 44” wide.  Why 44 instead of 48?  That width gave me better options as far as utilization of my plywood sheet.  Rails and leg pieces will be cut from the same plywood, so I’ll get closer to 100% this way.  The biggest problem is that I’ve got to make a “notch” in the frame to allow for clearance for the motor mount.  This will make the structure more complicated, but should be simple enough with the pocket screws.

Now, I have to rip one plywood sheet into 4” and 5” strips to make the rail and leg components, then cut to length and drill for the pocket screws.  We’ll pick up there next time.

2 responses to “Outfeed Table – Part 1

  1. I have been using the Kregg pocket screw system. It works pretty well. Just make sure both joints are held very securely before you start screwing them together, otherwise you won’t be able to pull them tight together.
    May the farce be with you!

  2. I’ve got a Kregg Jig System myself, but Unfortunatly I’ve not had the Pleasure of using it yet.

    I think it will come in Handy this summer when I start on my Kitchen Cabinets and other additions to my Kitchen when I get around to it.

    Handi

Leave a Reply

