What I Screwed Up this Week, October 29, 2010


This is the last installment for the outfeed table.  I’m not sure what it says about my woodworking skills that I got three different screw-up articles from one project, but at least you get to learn from my mistakes.

The Problem:

IMG_6061b

The outfeed table was intended to push up flush against the back of the tablesaw, but, as the photo shows, the leg of the table lined up perfectly with the slightly-splayed leg of the saw and prevented a flush fit.  Tthe table’s overhang is kept back from the edge of the saw top about two inches.  This isn’t enough to cause problems, but is not what I intended.

The Solution:

At this point, there really isn’t one.  If I had recognized this problem sooner, I could have left the overhang of the outfeed table longer, so it could reach over the rail all the way to the table.  As it is, I’ll just have to live with it.

Lesson Learned:

Never forget to consider how your piece will interact with its surroundings.  While you can’t predict everything, repeated checks and test fittings before important glue-ups or other one-way steps will greatly reduce your grief.

That’s it for this project, but plenty more are on the way in the near future, so stay tuned to find out What I Screwed Up.

Leave a Reply

