Fine Woodworking Magazine – Apology Accepted.


I suppose that my readers would have to be blind or three days dead (as the old saying goes) not to know about the recent uproar over comments made in a Fine Woodworking Magazine podcast. I won’t belabor you with all the details, but a quick overview may help if any of you are indeed unfamiliar with the situation.  Podcast host Asa Christiana had made comments that appeared to say that the woodworking blogging community was, as a whole, unqualified to put out material of an instructional nature, and that vetting by experienced professionals was necessary to ensure quality.

As you can imagine, this set off an enormous backlash from the blogosphere.  Cries of “elitism!” were rampant, and the responses and commentaries bore a striking resemblance to a firestorm.

Well, never let it be said that Fine Woodworking is insensitive to its readership.  First, episode 6 of their podcast had a clarification, that still seemed a little lackluster, but was obviously quickly inserted as a form of quick damage control.  This was followed by a blog post by Asa entitled, “What I’ve Learned About the Online Community“.  This post was obviously more carefully crafted, and was truly a gracious apology.  This gladdened me.  I truly don’t think they had ever thought about the blogosphere in quite this way before.  I was more than willing to give them a chance to improve.

Imagine my surprise when I arrived home and found a comment on this blog’s previous post from Asa, again apologizing for the misunderstanding.  It was certainly a sort of mass mailing, but I was impressed.  I’m one of the little guys – my readership wouldn’t even be a blip on the radar of the more successful blogs.  Yet, they took the trouble to post an apology here.  To me, this demonstrates true concern, and a willingness to really try to mend fences.  That is definitely, in my book at least, one of the things that defines a class act.

Apology accepted, Asa.

One response to “Fine Woodworking Magazine – Apology Accepted.

  1. Gracefully accepting an apology is every bit as important as making one. Nicely done.

Leave a Reply

